Interview

Therese Potgieter

Internship, Kapsch TrafficCom AG



I joined Kapsch TrafficCom AG Austria as an intern at their Marketing and Communications office in May 2014. Graduating in BA Business Administration from the Lauder Business School, Vienna in June 2014 and being relatively new in Vienna, my internship opportunity has been hugely beneficial in terms of gaining insight in a multinational company such as Kapsch.

Being South African, I much anticipated a possible language barrier that could exist. However I was surprised at how accommodating employees were, ensuring that I am part of the work environment and discussions at all times. On the upside I got to improve my German knowledge a little but more importantly, I was given the opportunity to obtain perspectives on how a complex company such as Kapsch AG operates. Specifically, assisting in tasks concerning international coordination, liaising with international employees, assisting in the process of creating marketing collateral for Kapsch products, proof reading as well as assisting in internal communication endeavors.

Having attended informative sessions about Kapsch TrafficCom, the Kapsch Group as well as learning how to use the Intranet as an important communication tool, have contributed to forming a 360 view of daily operations at KTC. Especially visiting Kapsch components was extremely interesting to see how components are produced as well as the technology used for production.

During my short time of three months at Kapsch TrafficCom AG, I can truly say I have worked some very enthusiastic and interesting people. I especially want to thank Mr. Alf Netek for taking me onboard as well as Petra Hamm-Fierthner, Niki Kolm, Roland Rossberg, Karin Schegula and Stefan Scheiner for their patience and willingness to include me in their tasks, this has significantly contributed to my valuable learning experience!

more testimonials

- Clemens Aschl Trainee 2014-2016, Kapsch PublicTransportCom
- Arezoo EdrisianVice President Research & Development Kapsch TrafficCom AG
- Maria WagnerTrade Compliance Kapsch Components GmbH & Co KG
- Katharina SchermannTrainee 2015 - 2017, Kapsch Group
- Albert HayrSenior Expert, Kapsch CarrierCom AG
- Rodrigo Calvo PaniegoSolution Verification & Validation Kapsch TrafficCom AG
  < 1 2 3 4 5  >

Interview

Therese Potgieter

Praktikum, Kapsch TrafficCom AG



Ich kam im Mai 2014 als Praktikantin in der Abteilung Marketing und Kommunikation zur Kapsch TrafficCom AG Austria. Ich habe im Juni 2014 meinem BA in Business Administration an der Lauder Business School in Wien abgeschlossen. Da ich in Wien noch relativ neu war, war mein Praktikum enorm hilfreich, um einen Einblick in ein multinationales Unternehmen wie Kapsch zu bekommen.
Da ich Südafrikanerin bin, habe ich eine mögliche bestehende Sprachbarriere erwartet. Ich war jedoch überrascht, wie entgegenkommend die Mitarbeiter waren und wie sehr sie sich bemühten, mich jederzeit ins Arbeitsumfeld und in die Diskussionen einzubeziehen. Ein Vorteil war, dass ich meine deutschen Sprachkenntnisse ein wenig verbessern konnte, aber noch wichtiger war mir, dass ich bei dieser Gelegenheit Einblicke erhielt, wie ein komplexes Unternehmen wie die Kapsch AG arbeitet. Insbesondere habe ich bei Aufgaben im Bereich der internationalen Koordinierung geholfen, war mit internationalen Mitarbeitern in Kontakt, habe den Prozess für die Erstellung von Marketingmaterial für Kapsch-Produkte unterstützt, Korrektur gelesen sowie die internen Kommunikationsbemühungen unterstützt.
Ich habe Informationsveranstaltungen über Kapsch TrafficCom, die Kapsch Group und über die Nutzung des Intranets als wichtiges Kommunikationstool besucht und mitgeholfen, einen 360-Grad-Überblick über das Tagesgeschäft bei KTC zu erstellen. Besonders der Besuch bei Kapsch Components war extrem interessant, da ich sehen konnte, wie die Bauteile produziert werden und welche Technologie für die Produktion verwendet wird.
Während der kurzen Zeit von drei Monaten bei der Kapsch TrafficCom AG kann ich wirklich sagen, dass ich mit einigen sehr enthusiastischen und interessanten Leuten gearbeitet habe. Besonders möchte ich Herrn Alf Netek danken, dass er mich eingestellt hat, sowie Petra Hamm-Fierthner, Niki Kolm, Roland Rossberg, Karin Schegula und Stefan Scheiner für ihre Geduld und ihren Willen, mich in ihre Aufgaben einzubinden. Dies hat entscheidend zu meiner wertvollen Lernerfahrung beigetragen! 

weitere testimonials

- Clemens AschlTrainee 2014 - 2016, Kapsch PublicTransportCom
- Arezoo EdrisianVice President Research & Development Kapsch TrafficCom AG
- Maria WagnerTrade Compliance Kapsch Components GmbH & Co KG
- Katharina SchermannTrainee 2015 - 2017, Kapsch Group
- Albert HayrSenior Expert, Kapsch CarrierCom AG
- Rodrigo Calvo PaniegoSolution Verification & Validation Kapsch TrafficCom AG
  < 1 2 3 4 5  >